tonedeaf

Play with a friend

Hi I am very new to the game. I just purchased Ylands Exploration Pack DLC and was wondering how I play it with a friend.

I have added a friend but they dont show up in the game when we are both online.

Also I noticed that it is unpublished, not sure if that is the cause, and if it is , how to publish it.

• Like 1

First, let me point out that your friend must have exploration DLC to also play the current exploration DLC with you. If they do not, you can still play legacy exploration with them by starting a legacy exploration game,  hitting esc and clicking multiplayer settings on the bottom right corner of the screen when you are in the game. When you are done setting it up as multiplayer, you can invite him/her to play with you. If your friend does not own the DLC, then they can only join if somebody with the DLC is hosting the game.

In the current version of exploration, your friend definitely needs to have purchased the exploration DLC to play. You can set it up by clicking play with friends at the bottom left of the main screen. From there you can choose peer to peer, set up password protected sharegame, or renting a server. In peer to peer, the map owner is always the host, meaning that other players will not be able to join the game without the owner of the map being in game. in Sharegames, other people with the password can host the game (only people that have purchased the DLC). Keep in mind that Steam only allows 3 sharegames to be hosted.