SandyT

Thoughts on game after playing for 7,936 hours

Ylands has grown and changed a lot since I started playing the early access game. Most of the changes have been wonderful, but some of them have definitely lessened my enjoyment of the game. The last several updates have unfortunately come with several changes that are making it harder for me to enjoy the game. Most of the "nerfing" of items is frustrating, but adding cobalt to making a copper wire seems a bit of a stretch. It seems like you are working to make the game harder with the nerfing you are doing and with enemies that can kill you, but you can't fight back, like sharks and ghosts. It seems to me that the "kill anything that moves before it kills you" type of game is a dime a dozen. I really dislike those games as it is very stressful to me, but it seems you want to make Ylands one of those games. The part I love about Ylands is the multiplayer where you set your barrier and can be neighbors with people you don't know, but you can "meet" them and make new friends and help each other out. The latest thing that is draining my enjoyment of the game is not having the ability to turn the weather off any longer. I was so excited to search for the new island types to start my new home, but the weather has become a serious impediment to that. I know weather exists in real life, but it doesn't need to be so extreme in the game. Of the short amount of daylight hours I have to search islands, a good portion of those are spent waiting for the fog the clear enough that I can see, or the rain to stop so I can avoid objects in the water, and then wait on the fog to lift again. I'm losing my excitement over the game and that makes me very sad. I'm probably in the minority here, but I want my Ylands to be fun again. 

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1